Obado, Nyong’o and Oparanya to lead the sugarcane reform team.

Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri has formed a task force to look into permanent ways of tackling the challenges facing the sugar sector.

The CS will co-chair the team with Kakamega governor Wycliff Oparanya. Other members are Governors Okoth Obado (Migori county governor), Anyang’ Nyong’o (Kisumu).

The team unveiled on Wednesday also includes Mrs Omondi, Bernard Otieno (Public millers), Patel Kobal (private millers), Ken Obao (private millers), and Carolyne (intergovernmental relations technical committee).

Patrick Omtia (governmental budget and economic council), Zakao Maraga (Agriculture ministry),Solomon Odera (Agriculture and food authority) Solomon Gitungu (Treasury) will also be part of the team.

Others are MP Emanuel Wangwe (Navakholo), Francis Waswa (Kenya sugar federation), and Mrs Lamenya (representing Attorney General).

The task force shall review the policy of the sugar industry, check on the emerging challenges facing the sugar industry, do research and review importation of sugar.

They will also undertake comparative analysis of the sugar industry, undertake an analysis of roles of stakeholders and how they can collaborate to develop the sugar sub sector.

The task force is also expected to review the pricing of the sugar, funding mechanism, address all the issues that may revitalize the sugar industry.

“The task force shall work within 30 days with specific deliverables…we expect that this will come into force this Friday.. I have forwarded this to AG for them to gazette it,” Kiunjuri added.

Kiunjuri said the team should issue recommendations and issue report with implementation goals in 30 days.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.